The National Glass Collectors Fair

Heading: National Glass Collectors Fair

Preview Gallery

Glass From Our 23 November 2014 Glass Fair

The images featured in this Preview Gallery illustrate examples of glass
that will be offered for sale at our November 2014 glass fair.

In the weeks leading up to our next fair we will continue to update the gallery and add new images of the glass that will be available on Sunday 23 of November 2014.

To make it easier for collectors to view the type of glass they are interested in, the glass featured in the Preview Gallery has been placed into separate categories.


In Focus: Cameo Vase by Helen Millard

Cameo vase by Helen Millard
Cameo vase by Helen Millard

This vase is a fine example of the cameo glass produced by contemporary glass artist Helen Millard.

Cameo glass is a technique that dates back to the Roman empire and is created by carving through different coloured layers of glass to reveal a design in relief.

Cameo glass was revived in the late 19th century by pioneering glassmakers such as George Woodall. His work inspired manufacturers around the world and cameo glass was produced using a number of techniques up until WWII.

In recent years the boom in contemporary studio glass has resulted in various glass artists rediscovering and reviving the cameo technique.

Helen Millard’s work is very much in keeping with the late 19th century cameo produced by Woodall, Stevens & Williams and Thomas Webb & Sons. The illustrated vase is a typical example of her work and demonstrates how she celebrates the legacy of the 19th century masters and has made a name for herself as one of the finest cameo glass engravers in the UK

Visit the November 2014 Contemporary Glass Preview Gallery to view further examples of decorative glass by contemporary glass artists.

You can see more items of special interest on our November 2014 In Focus page.

 

 

 

17th & 18th Century Glass

*Visit this Preview Gallery if you are interested in drinking glasses, decanters and other glassware from the 17th and 18th centuries.

Visit Gallery >>
*

[Last Updated 23 Sep 2014]

19th & 20th Century Glass

*This Preview Gallery is dedicated to decorative and collectable glass of all kinds from the 19th & 20th centuries.

Visit Gallery >>

[Last Updated 21 Oct 2014]

Contemporary Glass

*This Preview Gallery should be your first port of call if you are interested in work by contemporary glass artists, makers and designers.

Visit Gallery >>
*

[Last Updated 8 Oct 2014]

Antique & Modern Paperweights

*This Preview Gallery is aimed at collectors interested in both antique and modern paperweights.

Visit Gallery >>
*

[Last Updated 21 Oct 2014]

If you haven't already signed up to our mailing list, please fill out the form below and we will notify you when the Preview Gallery has been updated for our next fair.

Mailing List Form

Name:

Email: