The National Glass Collectors Fair

Heading: National Glass Collectors Fair

Preview Gallery

Glass From Our May 2015 Glass Fair

The images featured in this Preview Gallery illustrate examples of glass
that were offered for sale at our May 2015 glass fair.

In the weeks leading up to our next fair we will update the gallery and add new images of the glass that will be available on Sunday 22nd of November 2015.

To make it easier for collectors to view the type of glass they are interested in, the glass featured in the Preview Gallery has been placed into separate categories.


In Focus: The Victoire Car Mascot by R. Lalique

The Victoire - The icionic "Spirit of the Wind" Car Mascot by R. Lalique
The Victoire - The icionic "Spirit of the Wind" Car Mascot by R. Lalique

The Victoire (Spirit of the Wind) is arguably one of the most iconic glass car mascots to be manufactured in the first part of the 20th century.

R. Lalique's car mascots first made waves at the 1925 Art Deco exposition in Paris. André Citroën commissioned Lalique to design a special mascot for the launch of a new version of the 5CV car. The car was also known as known as the Cinq Chevaux (five horses) and Lalique created a suitably impressive mascot consisting of five dynamic prancing steeds.

Lalique went on to produce 29 different "Bouchons de Radiateur" (mascots) that were made between 1920 and 1931. The Victoire design was created on the 18th April 1928 and was used almost exclusively for Lalique's advertisements during the 1920s and '30s - it is rightly regarded by collectors to be the most sought after mascot design produced by Lalique.

Visit the 19th & 20th century gallery to view more examples of glass by R. Lalique, as well as further items of 19th & 20th century glass that were offered for sale at our May 2015 glass fair.

Further highlights from the May 2015 National Glass Fair are detailed on our
In Focus page >>>

 

17th & 18th Century Glass

*Visit this Preview Gallery if you are interested in drinking glasses, decanters and other glassware from the 17th and 18th centuries.

Visit Gallery >>
*

[Last Updated 11 May 2015]

19th & 20th Century Glass

*This Preview Gallery is dedicated to decorative and collectable glass of all kinds from the 19th & 20th centuries.

Visit Gallery >>

[Last Updated 11 May 2015]

Contemporary Glass

*This Preview Gallery should be your first port of call if you are interested in work by contemporary glass artists, makers and designers.

Visit Gallery >>
*

[Last Updated 11 May 2015]

Antique & Modern Paperweights

*This Preview Gallery is aimed at collectors interested in both antique and modern paperweights.

Visit Gallery >>
*

[Last Updated 11 May 2015]

If you haven't already signed up to our mailing list, please fill out the form below and we will notify you when the Preview Gallery has been updated for our next fair.

Mailing List Form

Name:

Email: